Big Time Texas Hunts Winners Announced

Big Time Texas Hunts Winners Announced

AUSTIN – The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department announced the 14 lucky winners of this year’s Big Time Texas Hunts selected at random from entries in the drawing.

All told, hunters bought over 79,000 Big Time Texas Hunt entries during this year’s sales period, which ran May 15-Oct. 15. More than $737,000 in gross sales were generated and proceeds from the drawing go to support wildlife research, habitat management and public hunting.

This year’s winner of the Texas Grand Slam hunting package, Ed Bredemeyer of San Antonio, is making plans for four separate guided hunts for the state’s top four premier big game species – desert bighorn sheep, white-tailed deer, pronghorn and mule deer.

“I told my wife this is the gift that keeps on giving, kind of like the jelly of the month club,” said Bredemeyer, who noted he has been entering the Big Time Texas Hunts for about 10 years. “I bought chances in other categories, too. I’ve been involved with hunting and conservation for years and the way I see it, if it’s good for wildlife, it’s good for me. I like supporting the people that support wildlife.”

Following are the winners of this year’s Big Time Texas Hunts.

Texas Grand Slam – Ed Bredemeyer, San Antonio
Ultimate Mule Deer Hunt – Stephen Howard, Houston
Premium Buck Hunt – Dennis Koehler, Adkins
Exotic Safari – Gary Clark, Childress
Whitetail Bonanza – Timothy Ramsey, Spring; John Hamilton, Bandera; William Hoermann, Driftwood; David Sirmon, Amaarillo; Thomas Harris, Boerne; Harold Louvier, New Iberia, LA
Big Time Bird Hunt – Patrick Haley, Porter
Gator Hunt – William Smith II, Midland
Texas Waterfowl Hunt – John Nicholson, Rockwall
Wild Hog Adventure – Tanner Davis, Austin
All winners have been notified. Entries for next year’s Big Time Texas Hunts will go on sale May 15, 2017.